The Canadian province of Quebec makes the oath of allegiance to King Charles optional

King Charles III

image copyright GettyImages

The Canadian province of Quebec has passed a law making it optional for members of the local parliament to swear allegiance to King Charles III.

The bill was introduced when three parliamentarians refused to swear allegiance to Charles after he was declared king.

In October, Canadian federal parliamentarians voted overwhelmingly against severing ties with the British crown.

In Canada, Quebec is the most supportive of the idea of ​​abolishing the constitutional monarchy.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *